Chapter Nine: Trauma & The City

My eardrums had gotten clogged—as I could barely hear the cicadas’ dull buzzing—my lungs constantly wheezing in and out.  My exhausted body eventually succumbed, staggering itself forward, but I caught my step and stopped, leaning forward with my hands on my kneecaps.  I was now facing the ground, staring at the hot sweat that trickled down around the sides of my forehead, imprinting itself onto the white stone pavement beneath me.  

Closing my eyes, I reminisced of the match I had two weeks ago with Marcus.  My body couldn’t forget that rush of adrenaline pumping through my veins towards the end of that fight—itching to catch that sensation again, while my mind desired its strength.  And thus, I ended up training more and more, continuously pushing myself even harder, all so I could reactivate that newfound power again. But for all of the days that I’ve trained, I was  frustratingly unable to activate it again. 

I so badly wanted to master this ability; so much so, that I ended up bugging Meteus on the daily, to the extent, that he started running away the moment he caught a glimpse of me.  It was his fault I’m pestering him like this anyway, after all, he’s the one who taught and enticed me with the breathing techniques and fighting styles of this world. So here I’ve been, training alone almost every day, trying to re-enact the match from that day.  

Since the result of the duel was a draw, Marcus was supposed to give some sparring time, but ever since I punched him across the training grounds that day, he’s been avoiding me too.  

“Ah, whatever!”  I kicked back, laying my back flat on the ground.  

Step Step Step Step

My ears twitch to the sound of someone’s steps closing in on me.  Opening my eyes, I turned my head to see two large feet in front of me.  Moving my eyes upward, past the white toga, I saw the all too familiar blonde hair, radiating in front of the sun. 

Normally, I would jump at the sight of Meteus, pestering him to teach me things, but since everyone’s been avoiding me lately, I hardly felt bothered to try.  So instead, I just stared up at the tall blonde God as I lay nonchalantly on the floor.

“Boy, it’s been a minute, come with me into the city.”


The city?  No thank you.

“What for?” I jump up from the ground.

“I’ve been stuck in this stifling palace, studying the effects of the Titan’s blood for about a month now, and I still have yet to find the chance to explore the city.”

Sigh

I never liked going into the city because most of the people had become entitled and arrogant, exploiting the comfort and safety given to them by my father.  And not to mention, the Council that ran the place, while father was gone, only acted to enrich themselves.  

As the war raged on throughout the years, the need for goods and supplies increased and caused trade in the city to flourish, thus, many of the visiting merchants became complacent in Lucius, eventually becoming settling down, but also bringing their greed and corruption with them.  Many members of the council too, were complicit in this corruption.  

I regrettably, was forced to learn of the terrible nature of the city the hard way.  

One Year Ago…

“Mother, please, I just want to get out of this stuffy palace for once.”

“No, means no Gaius, how many times do I have to tell you, it’s too dangerous for you to go out into the city right now.  Maybe you can go with your father when he gets back from his latest campaign.”

“But, we don’t even know if Father will even come back.”

“GAIUS, WE ARE NOT HAVING THIS DISCUSSION ANYMORE!”  

My eyes welled up-like a small cup of water about to overflow, but I made haste not to show Mother out of pride and ran out of the room.  

Jumping on my bed, I took my pillow and wrapped my arms around it, shoving my face into the white covers.

Mother just doesn’t understand me.  What does she want me to do? I’m stuck in the confines of the palace, with no one to talk or interact with, and all she ever wants me to do is learn from the instructors.  And she always tells me to wait until the war is over, or to go with Father when he is back, but who knows if Father will even come back in one piece. Plus, what’s so bad about me going alone in the city?  

Then an idea sprang into my head.

What if… What if, I show Mother I can be reliable on my own.

I jumped out of my bed with my concocted plan, and headed straight for Mothers room.  Peeking through the slightly opened door, I saw mother was talking to her maid, Mary and a palace guard.

“I need you to…”

As I faintly heard Mother speak to the guard, his head suddenly turned towards where I was peeking, but I immediately whipped my body back. 

Huff Huff

“Is there something wrong?” Mother said.

“No forgive me your highness.”

Alright, it looks like she’s busy, so she won’t notice if I’m gone.  

Quietly tiptoeing away from Mothers room, I pulled the cloak I was wearing over my head, and headed for the outer palace wall.

The city of Lucius was built on one side of a hill, towards the top was the palace where my family and some government officials resided.  If I wanted to sneak out and head into the city without being seen, I needed to traverse through the northern wall towards the peak of the hill and then make my way down from there.  Luckily in that wall, I recently found a small hole that I might be able to squeeze my way through.

***

Yes! I did it, now onwards into the city, muahahahaha!

It took me a while, but I finally managed to make my way down.  The city sure was amazing though, with its high walls and array of stone buildings, rising from the edge of the city to its center⁠—as if stone blocks were systematically arranged soley for visual aesthetics. I enjoyed looking at them as I descended   downwards from the hill. But what was even more eye catching was what I assume to be an alley market. I have never seen one before, but it sure was amazing as there were plenty of unique stalls, left to right, each selling their own fascinating items.  My eyes were glued from seeing the new world before me: pink fruits with spikes on them, weapons from other countries, and a million other things my brain was trying to take in.

Everything here looks amazing, why would Mother not want me to see this?!

“Hey stop that kid!” A burly voice shouted from behind me.

I turned around to see a boy, who looked to be maybe a couple years older than me, running straight towards me away from a large bald man with a scar on his cheek.

The boy wore a dirty tunic, with the torso part ripped, showing his bare stomach, as he ran away from the man.  His hair was black, protruding down to his shoulder, disheveled and greasy—as if he hadn’t bathed in days.

Why is this scary looking man chasing him?  Is he a bad guy? Did he do something to him?

The boy was just about to run past me, but I grabbed his arm, yanking him away to the side.  

“Is that guy a bad guy?” I pointed to his attacker.

The boy slowly nodded his head.

“Okay, then follow me!”

Holding the boys wrist, I dragged him along with me, running through every alleyway and corner I could find, until the bald man was no longer in sight. 

Huff Huff Huff

The two of us were panting, as we finally had time to rest, but I think I was lost now, as nothing looked familiar to me.  I didn’t expect us to be running around for this long, but that man was really persistent. 

“Hey…” The boy spoke, pushing me out of my worries, “thanks for helping me.”  

“hehe it’s nothing,” I responded, scratching the back of my head, “I’m sure you would have been fine without me, since that man was a slow runner.”  

This is the first time I’ve ever spoken to someone around my age.

“Oh, well aren’t you a nice guy, heh.” The boy snortled, “so what’s your name anyways?”

“Oh sorry, I’m Gaius, nice to meet you.”

“Heh, well “Gaius,” my name is Kleptis, and as a way of thanks, do you want to play with me and my friends?”

Friends?  Did I make my first friend?

“Y-yea, I don’t mind.”

“Great, let’s head over to my place then!”

***

As we found ourselves crossing the main road towards Kleptis’s home, my eyes couldn’t stop bobbing around.  Everything intrigued me: from how the people interacted with each other, to their living situations. It was like a breath of fresh air, seeing a world so different from my own.

The main road was a long strip in the city that went from the palace stairs to the main gate of Lucius.  Here there were merchants and people alike, bought and sold all sorts of things on the side, as the goods traveled in between them.  

One of the goods I saw however, I felt deeply stricken by: the slaves.  Some were being dragged by the chains tied to their hands, while others were caged, lifeless as they watched me walk by.  I had learned of them from the teachings given by my instructors, but never have I been able to see one yet, so this was a bit shocking to me.

“No! NO!” One slave woman screamed as she tugged away at her chains.

I felt my heart sink as I turned my gaze away.  Even though I knew there was nothing I could do anything about it, I felt guilty that the people in Father’s Kingdom, even the slaves, could be treated like this.  But while father is away, the council controls the city, and only they had the power over its political affairs. It sounded a little selfish to me, but if anything, I felt thankful and lucky I wasn’t one of them.

“Alright, we’re here!”

Kleptis stops at a small single story home made out of stone.  There really wasn’t much to say about it, other than it being a rectangular house with a square hole for a window and some fabric curtaining the entrance.  

“Wait right here, I have to go talk to somebody inside first!”

“Okay.”

Kleptis heads inside his home and after a few, he comes back out with a strange short old man.  He was only a head taller than me, but he was dressed neatly in a tan toga and held a cane in one hand.  His face was wrinkled and to add to his age, he was bald.

Hmm, there must be a lot of bald old men in this city.

“Ah, you must be Gaius, my thanks for helping this child.”

“It’s no problem!” I smiled at the old man.

The man looked down at my toes and back up to my face-as if he was measuring up my body-I felt a shiver run down my spine.  He then turned around, and went back inside the home.

Phew, that man was kind of creepy.

“Sorry about that, the old man has been taking care of me since I was little and wanted to meet my new friend.”

A smile slyly crept up on my face as I heard the word “friend.”

“Ah, no worries.”  

“Well, let’s go inside, I have some toys in there we can play with.”

I didn’t really enjoy playing with toys, but I’m not going to be rude and refuse my first friend.

“Okay!”

“After you,” Kleptis ushers me in.

Pushing the cloth aside, I head inside the building, but right as I had stepped through the doors-someone large had taken ahold of me, lifting me up from the ground.

“MMMMMFFFF MFFFFMMM”  I tried desperately to say something, but my mouth was covered by his other hand.

“Ah, good work Kleptis, you found some good bait for us this time.”

Kleptis? Bait? Did I get tricked?

Shifting my eyes, I saw Kleptis now beside me.

“Heh, yea, this kid was too easy, we’re going to make a lot of money off him.”

Money off me? Kleptis you bastard, what did you do?

I kick my feet around and attempted to move my body as much as I could.

“Surprised, Gaius?”  

I stopped moving for a bit and stared at Kleptis who was now in front of me.

“You’re naive, spoiled, and I could tell from a glance you were a rich boy when I first saw you in the street.  From the clothing you wore, to your disgusted look as we passed those slaves, as if you’d never seen one before.  Me and Ouli over here decided to play a trick on you, to lure you towards us.”

The man behind me named Ouli, held my body with his left arm, and pulled his face forward so I could see.  the bald man with the scar on his face that chased us earlier appeared with a sickening smile on his face.

“Isn’t it ironic, how you’re soon going to be one of those slaves you were so disgusted by?”

My eyes widened in fear as I began to furiously kick my legs again.

“Woah there, feisty one aren’t you fella?”  Ouli said tauntingly.

Hell no! I am not going to be one of those slaves, I do not want to be one of those slaves!

“Hahaha, now, meet old man Akolastos, he’s a slave trader who likes to have fun with some of his slaves before he sells them off.”  

The bald old man from before, appears from another door farther in the home, licking his lips.

The horror had then enveloped my eyes, I was about to become a toy for a lecherous old men, and then sold off as a slave.  My palms began to sweat and my body struggled harder, in fear of becoming a slave. I now knew how that woman felt, screaming in terror as she was dragged away by her chains.

“Hurry up and chain him Ouli!” Akolastos snarts.

“Okay, Okay!”

And right as Ouli’s grip softened around my mouth, I raised my jaw and bit his index finger as hard as I could.

“OWWWWWW.”

Ouli yanked his hand away from my mouth and reactively let go of me, clasping his hand bitten finger.

“Ouli, you idiot!”

As soon as my feet touched the ground, I pivoted my leg, twisting my body around as I made a run for it.  My arms flailed side to side, as I ran past every corner, into every alleway I could find.

I ran for my life, stumbling along the way, but I never stopped, I continued to run as I could hear the jangling chains from behind.  Then looking at my surroundings, I started to see some people awkwardly looking at me as I ran. 

People! Maybe they will help me?

“SOMEONE PLEASE HELP! Someone is trying to sell me into slavery!  HELP! HELP!”

Looking around as I ran, I saw everyone go back inside their homes and close the shutters.

What!? Am I seeing things, why is everyone ignoring me? 

But right as I turned the next corner, Kleptis appeared, sweeping his foot out and tripping my legs, forcing me to fall to the floor.

“OOOF.”

My hands touched down first, as it was inevitable I would hit the ground, then my cheek tasted the dust on the ground.

“You really have to make this hard for us?  Stop trying because you won’t be escaping us that easily, I know these streets like the back of my hand.” 

I could feel my ankles being shackled as I tried to get up.

“OOF”

My body tripped over itself, the shackles hindering my legs.

Clink Clank Clink Clank

“Ouli, what took you so long?  Hurry up and stick the chain to his shackles and lets drag him back.  Let’s make him regret running away from us and show him how hopeless it is to even try.”

Chiq

My body dragged against the floor below, as I could feel the grains of dirt grind through my tunic.  

Being chained like this, I knew there was no point in me struggling, so instead I tried to think my way out of it.  But to no avail, my only option was to plea to the people around for help.

“ANYONE! SOMEBODY? PLEASE HELP ME!” 

“Cry all you want, nobody here is going to help you.”

I looked around, left and right as my body was pulled back from where I ran from.  Every person I saw in their home either looked on in ignorance or gazed at me with a face full of contempt.  

“PLEASE! SOME…BODY, HELP ME..hee.. Heee..”  My voice began to croak as tears stream down from the corners of my eyes.

Is this why Mother didn’t want to let me in to the city? Because all of the people were like this: ignorant, wicked, and selfish?  

“Mother, I’m sorry!” I yelled in remorse as the snot dripped from my nose.

For the rest of the way back, I remained in silence, giving up all hope in the people of Lucius.

“Oh, good you were able to bring him back,” I heard Akolastos say.

I closed my eyes as my body shivered at the sound of his perverted voice.

“Wait, who are you?”  I heard Ouli say.

SLASHHHH

In an instant, I felt hot drops of liquid splatter over me as I reopened my eyes.  Blood gushed out from Ouli’s neck, as his knees dropped to the floor, with his body shortly following suite.  

“WAIT, WAIT, STOP!”  Akolastos screamed.

Then, I got up and saw Akolastos in front of his home, laying on the ground with his hands stretched outwards, pleading for his life.  

“If it’s money you want, I- I have, I mean I can give it to you, please, just spare me!

Who Akolastos was pleading to, was the guard Mother was talking to earlier.  Dressed casually in a red tunic, with a bloodied gladius in hand, the guard raised the blade and cleaved the lecherous man’s head vertically, splitting it in half.  

SPLISH

The guard pulled the sword out of Akolasto’s head, and gushes of red followed as his body fell limply onto the ground.  

“BLEUUUURGGHH,” I threw up at the horrific sight, but felt no sympathy for the dead man.

“Now, onto you,” the assailant said, looking towards Kleptis who was now shaking on the ground.

“W-why, who is that kid!?” Kleptis pointed towards me.

The guard didn’t answer him out loud, instead he knelt towards Kleptis, and dipped his head by his ear.  I could basically read out what he was mouthing, “that’s the son of the King.” The guard got back up from where he knelt as the expressions on Kleptis’s face had begun to add a mixture of shock to the fear that resided. 

His eyes widened, his jaws dropped, and his head shook while gradually turning back towards me.

“H-h-hey, I’m your friend right?  You can tell this man to not kill me right, Gaius?”  Kleptis pleaded.

I didn’t respond; instead I looked away when I saw the blade gleam in preparation to swing mercilessly down onto Kleptis’s head.  

SPLISHH

Though my eyes were tightly shut,  I could still feel the pool of warm blood touch my sandals, the metallic smell melding with the  festering odor of fresh corpses.  

“Forgive me for not saving you sooner, Prince Gaius, but her highness wanted you to learn from this experience.”

Back to the Present…

Last year, I was a bit stupider than now, but I guess I could say it was a valuable experience.  Disobeying Mother, I snuck out of the palace one day to venture out into the city and was instantly captivated, but my excitement was quickly cut short when I discovered the true nature of the city.  Dragged away in chains, I was almost trapped into slavery, becoming victim to such an egregious act, tricked by those who I thought had good intentions.

Ultimately saving my life, traumatizing me, and teaching me a lesson, Mother’s guard killed those kidnappers, and brought me back to the palace safely.  Of course I was given mouthful and more of a reason to fear mother after that, but I had more than learned my lesson. Those in the city were selfish and greedy, and I never wanted to step foot there again.

Of course I asked Mother why the people were like this, but she only gave me simple answers, saying things like, “most only look out for their own wellbeing.”  And every time I asked about correcting slavery, she said only the council, who governed the city while father was away at war, had the power to do so. 

“What’s wrong?  I’d have expected you to be the type that would be enthusiastic when someone mentions the city, especially since I have yet to see you leave the palace grounds.”  Meteus interrupted my distasteful memory.

“It’s nothing, can’t you just go with Father?”

“Your father is a king, I would hardly want that type of attention to be surrounding me.”

“Then go alone.”


“I’m in need of some company.”

“Go with Marcus then.”

“Okay, why do you dislike the city so much?  Because you and I both know that, that big-nosed child would be the last mortal I would ask.”  Meteus arched his back, leaning his face closer to mine.

Sigh

Immediately, I turned away from Meteus’s gaze in dismay.

“You shouldn’t bother with them”

“Hmm, well why is that boy?” Meteus lifts his right eyebrow, placing his right hand under his chin. 

“Those people are all full of greed and selfishness, and I don’t think you should be around those types.”

“Ah, I see now, I’m assuming those people did something to leave a bad impression on you?”

“Metty, those people tried to kidnap me!  They’re the worst of the worst.” I pouted, my nostrils flared up, and I dug my nails into my hands.


Meteus looks back in response, but rather than his usual demeanor, he seemed to be frowning.

Sigh

“Come boy,” Meteus sits on the ground, legs crossed as he pats the empty space close to me, “Sit.”

“I don’t want to be lectured right now, just go find-WOAH”

Grabbing at my arm, Meteus yanked me down, forcing my body to sit on the ground next to him.

“Good, now let me tell you about what I’ve witnessed as a God who’s roamed among you humans before.”  

Meteus takes a deep breath before continuing. 

“There are too many of you shits roaming this world; I know it, your father knows it, and even all the other Gods know it.”

“Then, why do you still…?”  My words trail off, as I was confused as to why Meteus was lecturing me, if he understood.

“But just because there are too many of you shits, that doesn’t mean you were born a shit and I’m sure some of you could eventually improve yourselves and change into less shittier ones”

It’s kind of uncomfortable how he keeps calling people poop, but I get what he means⁠—at least I hope I do.  But that doesn’t mean I agree with him.

“Yea, I know, but-”

“You know what I would do if I were you, the next King of this country?”  Meteus sharply cuts me off.

Rather than replying, I listen closely to Meteus instead.  


“I would closely examine the people and all of their problems, then once I become a King, I would have a plan ready to help them and the vile along with it.  For the ideal King, in my mind, bears the accidents of life with dignity and grace, creating the best of circumstances for his people. Making those people change for him, as well as forcing their hearts to beat for him.”

“But I always see you treating men with disdain, why this sudden talk?”

“That’s because I am a God and I see no reason for myself to create any meaningful connections with these men.  I choose for myself who I want to be affiliated with, but you… You however, must live with these people and Guide them one day, as is your duty as King.”

Makes sense, Meteus gets to do whatever he wants because he’s a God, but I am a prince, born to carry on Father’s legacy.


“But, how do you get those people, who are selfish and only think of themselves, to change?”

“That’s for you, the next ruler of Lucius, to think of,” Meteus puts his fist up close to my shoulder.  

“Plus, if you always think of all of the Lucians like this, wouldn’t that mean you’ll eventually be stuck with leading a country you hate for the rest of your life?”

My eyes widened.

He’s right, Lucius is my Father’s kingdom, but one day, it’ll be mine too.  If I will one day inherit Father’s Kingdom, I will need to correct what I see as unpleasant, otherwise I’ll never leave this palace.  I’ll never get to explore the lands that I wanted to, if I don’t conqueror my own.

I was hesitant at lifting my arm at first, but eventually I gave in and bumped my fist into Meteus’s.

“So, where do I start?”

“Boy, how about we…” The right edge of Meteus lip curves upwards, “start by going into the city, then maybe I could give you a couple ideas and I might even tell you some new tips for fighting.”


Instantly my mood changed and the excitement curved through my face.

“Okay!  But I have to ask Father firs-”

“I already asked and he said ‘yes.’”

Wow, I’m surprised Father accepted Meteus’s proposal, does he trust him a bit more now or is it because he’s such a smooth talker?  Probably both. But anyways, before I head into the city, there’s someone I want to see first.

“Okay, but before we go I would like to go see Mother real quick.”


“I bear no complaints, let us make way.”

Meteus and I left the training grounds and headed towards Mother’s room before we made way for the city.  As we moved past the line of stone columns to our left, I stared at the ground, stepping over each of the pillared shadows.  But in contrast to the shadows passing by my feet, two conspicuous ones rapidly approached me from the front. I pulled my chin up to see who it was, appearing to cross paths with us, but doing so, my all so ecstatic mood quickly soured, as we happened to have run into Marcus and his father. 


Marcus’s father, Licinius, appeared at a foots length from me now, towering over me with his large, bulky frame. Though his body was somewhat wide and stocky with muscle, he wasn’t very tall, as he was about half a head shorter than Meteus.  The similarities between him and Marcus were uncanny though. The two of them had the same big nose and short curly hair, with the only exception being the noticeable wrinkles that laced Licinius’s forehead, along with his neatly trimmed grey beard.

To be completely honest though, I never really liked Licinius.  I mean he was always respectful and courteous towards me, but for some odd reason, I could never bring myself to trust him.  Maybe it was because I disliked Marcus or maybe because he is a part of the council, but regardless, I always felt as if he was putting up front when he was around me.  I mean, yes he and Father were close friends, but only through war. The two of them were essentially forced to grow closer through each of their countless battles.

“Hello Gaius, it has been a very long time since I’ve last had the chance to see you.” 

Licinius placed his right hand over his left shoulder, slightly tilting his head forward, his expression solid like a statue.

“Hello, Uncle Licinius and…” I look at Marcus who obviously wasn’t the least bit happy to see me either, “hello Marcus.”

“And you are…”  Licinius shifts his focus towards the Blonde God accompanying me, “The hero Meteus I’ve heard so much about lately, I presume?”

Rather than responding, Meteus just awkwardly stares down at Licinius, as if replying to the man would be a waste of his time.  

“I can see the rumors were true, that you don’t like talking to the men of the palace.  Well then, Gaius, Meteus. If you will excuse us, Marcus and I will be on our way then, as we have some matters to attend to.”  Licinius’s face remained expressionless as I watched him and Marcus walk by.  

To be frank, I thought that was pretty impressive.  Seeing how Marcus is his son, I expected Licinius to have shown some emotion after being rudely ignored by Meteus.

“Oh and Meteus, a small piece of advice, if you don’t mind,” Licinius abruptly stopped, turning his shoulder, before he and Marcus walked past the corner of the hallway.  

“Be wary of some of the men in the palace, their resentment may bring you some unwanted attention.”

Yea, there definitely was no surprise there.  Even I have noticed the disdain the men gave Meteus, since almost every man that’s tried to interact with Meteus was met with the same intimidation and empty response from him.  However, that wasn’t the only reason; from what I’ve heard from Father, when Meteus approaches women, his personality would take a complete dive⁠—transforming into that of a complete womanizer⁠—and a good one at that, apparently.  But none of this really bothered me, I mean, to each their own I guess?

***

After finally arriving at Mothers quarters, I asked Meteus to wait in the lounge outside, before entering.


Knock Knock

“Come in!”

Creaaaaak

After passing through wooden door, my nostrils were greeted by the aromatic white lilies in the room.  Adorned all over, the lilies made the room look a bit more livelier as they complemented the sunlight that peeked in through the windows. 

“Oh, Prince Gaius,” 

I looked to the left of the room and saw my Mother’s personal maid Mary. 

“Here, let me give you some time with your mother.”

Mary, dressed in her usual black and white stola, stood up from the stool she sat on and exited the room, leaving me alone with Mother.

“Oh, huhu, why hello there Meteus.”

Click

Fwuuuu Haaaa

Taking a deep breath, I sat down on the same stool, and silently gazed at Mother who lie in her bed.

“I’m back Mother,” my voice softens, gripping at her frail hand.

The world had gone silent as my senses were only focused on my sleeping  mother. One of the very few who hadn’t woken up yet, laying comatose, motionless except for the slow undulating of her chest as she breathes.  The day Julius was born, I had engraved a picture of my beloved family in my head, but now that frame was replaced: with White lilies adorned around the bed of a frail sleeping mother, her son, holding tightly onto her pale hand hoping she would soon wake up. 

“Mother, don’t be mad, but… I’m going to go into the city today with Meteus.”

I took a brief pause for a moment before to her speaking again.

“I know, I know, you probably don’t want me to go after what happened last time, but I have Meteus with me this time and he’s kind of teaching me how to become a proper king.  Plus Father gave me the okay, so blame him if something goes wrong.”

“One day when I succeed Father as King, I will fix this city.  That’s why I have to see it first, to better understand it, I hope you’ll understand that.  So please, when you wake up, don’t punish me, instead, hug me because… I miss you.”

Letting go of Mothers hand, I get up from the stool and head for the door.  But before I swung the door open, I looked down at the door handle, and quietly muttered to myself. 

“Wake up soon Mother, I’ll be back tomorrow.”

Creaaaaak

After closing the door behind me, my arms slouched over while my  jaw dropped.

Giggle Giggle Giggle

“Hahaha, oh Meteus, stop it!” Mary giggled while playing with her hair, curling it around her index finger.

I was shocked, witnessing first-hand, the famed “womanizer Meteus,” as he and Mary were fatuously flirting.  His right forearm pressed against the wall above Mary’s head, while his right knee hiked up between her legs.  Not to mention, his left hand crevicing under the shoulder side of her stola, making me cover my eyes with my hands, as my face flushed red.

“METT-EE!” I said while gritting my teeth, slightly peeking through my fingers.  

“Oh my, forgive me Prince Gaius,” finally noticing my presence, Mary quickly pulled herself away from Meteus.

“And forgive me, Lord Meteus, I hope we can converse again,” Mary winked with one eye and gave another small giggle before she re-entered mothers room.

I didn’t know she had this side to her.

Sigh

“Do you really have to do this with my Mother’s personal maid?”  

“You yourself, will learn the joys of women one day,” Meteus smirked, “Now then are we all set to head into the city?”

Sigh

“Whatever,” I roll my eyes, “lets go.”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started